On 25th April, European Union ambassadors finally reached an agreement between European Council and the representatives of the European Union Parliament considering the implementation of European travel information and authorisation system, also known as ETIAS.

The Visa Information System is processing, collecting, storing and sharing to relevant authorities information about Schengen visas of the non-EU citizens. This system allows Schengen states to exchange all visa-related data.

A Schengen visa allows citizens of non-Schengen countries to visit or transit through Schengen area. There are three types of Schengen visas: Uniform Schengen visa (USV), Limited territorial validity visa (LTV). and National visa.